Something about a woman ……….

One of my flatmates is a young European guy who is a little bit down on his luck. The Job prospects in western europe are terrible for young people, so he is here in Singapore looking for work. He is struggling and feeling a little bit depressed and discouraged. I try my best to encourage him to hang in there. I tell him about my own struggles to land a job when I was a new graduate. It would get a smile out of him but you could generally see the  a shadow of Gloom hanging on his head and stalking him every where he went.

Well! just this morning i see that he has found a girl. Yes, he had Sex. No, she was not a hooker. She liked him and you could tell. When I saw him, he looked really well. Gone was the shadow of Gloom. Gone was the slight bend in his neck whenever he walked. Gone was the hang-dog look and gone were the worry creases lining his face. Here was a radiant man looking confident and even a touch cocky and arrogant. He gave me the most enthusiastic Good morning of anyone in recent memory and walked around with a strut. I just had to smile. I remembered the first day I landed in the United States as a young lad from India. I came to the U.S. under pretty miserable circumstances. I was about to start graduate school but I had no idea if I was going to be able to graduate. I had enough money for exactly 2 months. I had no aid, no scholarship, no academic fellow ship, no grants and little hope of landing one. The very first day I landed there I was roaming the University looking for Jobs. Any kind of Jobs. As long as they paid. If I found a job, I would probably last 8 months. But to actually graduate, I really needed a scholarship or a research assistant-ship or a teaching assistant-ship. Else, I would have to drop out for lack of money and go back home a failure. A has been. As I was hopelessly walking the campus, begging for jobs, going through the motions, a beautiful woman smiled at me. In the way that only women can. I remember it like just yesterday. A warm smile. An empathetic smile. A slightly mischevious smile. A very feminine smile.  And suddenly I felt a current flowing through my body. Suddenly I felt, it would all be OK. I would find a job. I would find an assistantship. I would graduate. I would be just fine. And even if it would not be fine, I did not really care. That not being fine thing was in the future. While I was in the present. Her smile was in the present. Fuck the future. Savour the present.  Really, there were no worries. The world was a beautiful place. The sky seemed so blue, the leaves of the tree so green and the chirping of the birds so piercing.  It was 11:00 am in the morning, and it seemed like midnight given my prospects in life. But after that smile, suddenly it was warm sunshine with hope and opportunity in every corner that I cared to look.

Yes, there is definitely something about women that no matter how bad things get for us, they manage to give us hope. No matter how naturally pessimistic our psyche, they manage to make us feel like die-hard optimists. They manage to make us forget our worries, our deficiencies, our insecurities, our problems and our fears. Somehow when you are with them, the world feels a lot better. Every problem seems solvable. We may have no money, but we feel like Bill Gates. We may be ugly, but we feel like Brad Pitt. We may be weak, but we feel like Muhammad Ali. We may be boring, but we feel like James Bond. We may be stupid, but we feel like Einstein.

Thank you Ladies. If not for you, we would not bother even to get out of bed. And if we did manage to get out of bed, we would simply walk into a monastery, lock the door to the outside world and throw away the key.

About masculineffort

A Man should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, seduce a woman, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects.
This entry was posted in Thank you ladies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

